This New Game

maxresdefaultCrazy week, the reason this is a bit late, just going to leave it at that. As I told you last week, I was going to have a game peer presentation and for those that wasn’t there, the game I presented was “One Hour One Life”. This game “came out” recently or alpha at least. I found this on youtube by a youtuber that makes videos on a lot of indi-games.

I just want to let the video of the developer that made this game give you the introduction of it.

As you can see this is a quite interesting and fascinating game. The whole idea of building up civilisation from scratch and that one is completely dependent on other players much like real life. There has never really been something like this before, at least not that I have seen. Funny thing is that I still haven’t played the game for myself, but what I have done is look at people play it. The idea of exploring the world and finding dead civilisations that didn’t make it is enticing. Not all civilisations will make it and this we can also see in history, just look at the great empire of Rome. Even as big that got it didn’t make it and had its downfall. Of course Rome was a more of a politic and expansion problem while in one hour one life, the big problem for the more simple civilisations is food and the knowledge of the people of that civilisations. If the players don’t learn the things that the “older” players have done to survive then the civilisation will fall.

indieg

The game started with players living like a hunter gatherer civilisation, and so far of what I have seen the civilisations that have survived went over to a farming civilisation. I have also seen something about the most advanced civilisation have come in to the bronze age. Which is quite a feat.

More than just what happens in the game is this idea of one only benign a small part of a bigger picture, where you have a small impact on the game. In most games you as the player is the big hero that is going to save the world (of course there is a lot of different games out there), but this small impact game play is very interesting. I can probably keep going with this game and I’m really looking forward to try it for myself (when I get the time), so I will just leave it at that and I really want to know what people think about this game. Look it up, try it, give me your thoughts.

Leave a comment